Gordon and Millen Join Gopher Hockey Staff for 2016-17 Season

Minneapolis, Minn.–Two alums are joining the Gopher Hockey staff for the 2016-17 season. Ben Gordon will be the Assistant Director of Operations and Corey Millen will be a undergraduate assistant for the program while working toward his degree in recreation, park, and leisure studies.

Gordon is returning to campus following a successful stint assistant coaching the Tri-City Storm to a USHL Clark Cup championship in 2015-16. Gordon also spent a year at St. Scholastica in 2014-15 as an assistant coach and served as an interim head coach when the head coach went on a medical leave.

Gordon played at the University of Minnesota from 2004-2008 making one trip to a Frozen Four during four NCAA post-season appearances, and was on two WCHA championship teams. The International Falls, Minn. native played professionally for six seasons in the ECHL, AHL, DEL, and CHL scoring 143 goals and 380 points in 362 professional games.

Gordon will run the video operations for the hockey program and assist with other hockey operations.

Millen played at the University of Minnesota from 1983-1987 and in two Frozen Fours. The Cloquet, Minn. native was a team captain for the 1986-87 season, second team all-american in 1986, and scored 119 goals and 122 assists over 149 games for the maroon and gold. Millen has the third most career points and goals for the Gophers behind John Mayasich and Pat Micheletti.

The speedy forward played professionally for 13 seasons in the NHL with the New York Rangers, Los Angeles Kings, New Jersey Devils, Dallas Stars, and Calgary Flames, and in the IHL, AHL, DEL and Swiss-A league. Millen joined the M Club Hall of Fame in 2003. Millen also played in two Olympic Games, the 1984 Olympic Games in Sarajevo and the 1988 Olympic Games in Calgary.

Millen was the head coach for the Alaska Avalanche in the NAHL during the 2011-12 season and coached three season for the Minnesota Wilderness from 2013-16. Millen led the Wilderness to a 127-56-23 record, three playoff appearances, and a 2015 NAHL postseason title. The organization produced over 20 NCAA Division I players including current Gophers Darian Romanko and Brock Kautz.